» » Postage stamps of Ireland, 1922-1982
Download Postage stamps of Ireland, 1922-1982 epub book
Author: Liam Miller
ISBN13: 978-0946521012
Title: Postage stamps of Ireland, 1922-1982
Format: lrf txt azw lit
ePUB size: 1934 kb
FB2 size: 1992 kb
DJVU size: 1622 kb
Language: English
Publisher: The Dept; Revised edition (1983)
Pages: 80

Postage stamps of Ireland, 1922-1982 by Liam Miller

To identify postage stamps used in Ireland between 1840 and 1922, it is necessary to identify the postmark cancelling the stamp as being from an Irish town From 1840 to 1844, the Penny Black, and other stamps issued, were obliterated with the Maltese Cross cancellation. Kane, William (e., ed. Postage Stamps of Ireland 1922–1982. Dublin, Ireland: Philatelic Section, Department of Posts and Telegraphs. The Postage Stamps of Ireland 1922–1927 (4th e. Munk, Herbert (1941).

Postage stamps of Ireland. LibraryThing members' description.

Definitive postage stamps of Ireland are the regular series of definitive postage stamps issued by the Irish Free State between 1922 and 1937 and by Republic of Ireland since 1937. Nine distinctly different series of designs have been released; additionally the watermark was changed for two issues and the currency was changed on three occasions while the designs remained the same.

Because no postage stamps had been designed, the first Irish stamps issued were the then-current British definitive postage stamps bearing a portrait of George V that were overprinted Rialtas Sealadaċ na hÉireann 1922 (Provisional Government of Ireland 1922) and issued on 17 February 1922. The overprint was later changed to Saorstát Éireann 1922 (Irish Free State 1922).

Ireland was part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland when the world's first postage stamps were issued in 1840. These stamps, and all subsequent British issues, were used in Ireland until the new Irish Government assumed power in 1922.

Ireland stamp catalogue. Meet other stamp collectors interested in Ireland stamps. 1922 Great Britain Stamps Overprinted in Black by Dollar Printing House Ltd. - Roman Numeral I and Long 9 in "I922", 17. February WM: None Perforation: 15 x 14. No. Type.

ed. Philatelic Section, Department of Posts and Telegraphs, Dublin, Ireland. List of people on stamps of Ireland - This is a list of people on the postage stamps of the Irish Free State between 1922 and 1937 and on the postage stamps of Ireland since 1937, including the years when they appeared on a stamp.

Postage stamps of the Provisional Government (Jan–Dec 1922) consisted of overprinted British stamps. The text in traditional Irish orthography reads Rialtas Sealadach na hÉireann 1922 and translates as Provisional Government of Ireland 1922. In 1922, as an interim measure before the first specially designed definitives were ready, a series of contemporary stamps of King George V were overprinted. The unoverprinted stamps were issued and in use in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland between 1912 and 1922 and continued in use in Great Britain and Northern Ireland until 1936  .

Following the overprints, a regular series of definitive stamps was produced by the new Department of Posts and Telegraphs, using domestic designs. These definitives were issued on 6 December 1922; the first was a 2d stamp, depicting a map of Ireland (including Northern Ireland, which remained a part of the United Kingdom)

Postage stamps of Ireland did not exist until 1922. When the first postage stamps appeared in 1840, British stamps were used within Ireland, as shown above. Ireland was conquered by the Tudor Monarchs of England during the 16th Century, and England began colonizing the island with English settlers. King Henry VIII of England was proclaimed the King of Ireland in 1542, and from that time forward, Ireland would be part of what would eventually become the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland